According to the National Statistics Domestic Violence Fact Sheet, an estimated 10 million men and women experience domestic violence in the United States every year. In the state of Iowa, domestic violence involves any offense of assault committed against a family or household member. A defendant convicted of domestic abuse could face jail time, fines, restraining orders, loss of parenting privileges, and other life-changing ramifications.
If you're under investigation for domestic violence, retaining a highly skilled and aggressive Iowa criminal defense attorney is imperative to building your defense strategy. At Olberding Law Office, I'm committed to offering comprehensive legal guidance and reliable representation to clients facing domestic violence charges. As your legal counsel, I will review and investigate all of the facts of your unique situation and outline an effective defense in pursuit of a favorable outcome for your case. I will fight vigorously to protect your rights and refute the allegations against you with factual evidence.
My firm proudly represents clients in Nevada, Iowa, and the surrounding areas of Hamilton County, Marshall County, Boone County, Hardin County, and Story County.
In Iowa, the term domestic violence is also known as "domestic abuse." According to Iowa Code Section 236.2(2), domestic abuse can be defined as committing "assault" under any of the following circumstances:
Under Iowa Code Section 708.1(2), a person commits an assault when, without justification, the person does any of the following:
The possible penalties of a domestic violence conviction in Iowa include:
First Offense: This is a simple misdemeanor charge. Punishable by up to 30 days imprisonment in county jail and a fine of between $65 and $625.
Second Offense: This is a serious misdemeanor charge. Punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of between $315 and $1,875. Also, a first offense where the victim suffered bodily injury or mental illness will also be classified as a serious misdemeanor.
Involved a Dangerous Weapon: A domestic abuse that involved the use of a dangerous weapon is considered an aggravated misdemeanor. Punishable by up to two years in county jail and a fine of between $625 and $6,250.
Third & Subsequent Offenses: Third and subsequent offenses are considered as Class D felonies. Punishable by up to five years imprisonment and a fine of between $750 and $7,500.
Other possible consequences of a domestic violence conviction include:
When accused of domestic violence in Iowa, your attorney can fight your charges using any of the following defenses:
At Olberding Law Office, I have devoted my career to handling criminal cases and helping individuals fight their domestic abuse charges. Using my extensive resources and legal understanding, I will help you navigate the Iowa criminal justice system and represent you in every phase of the legal process. I will fight diligently to defend your legal rights and ensure that those allegations don't ruin your life.
Contact my firm - Olberding Law Office - today to schedule a simple case evaluation. My firm is proud to represent clients in Nevada, Hamilton County, Marshall County, Boone County, Hardin County, and Story County, Iowa.